Traditional ‘art school’ and academic investigative paths

When comparing new media and old media, an obvious investigational path would be to look at the sustainability factors involved in the various mediums.  Other obvious possibilities would include cost effectiveness, social implications, technological and evolutionary factors, cultural differences etc. but none of these are feeling right to me at the moment.  The aforementioned investigative paths are traditional ‘art school’ academic exploratory paths but I think that this essay is supposed to be as much about my practice personally, as it is about my practice in general and thus I am looking to make my essay relevant to me, even if this means avoiding traditional lines of enquiry.

I feel I must reinforce that my reasons for avoiding these subjects are to produce a more personally relevant perspective on the contexts of my practice.

Leave a Reply

