‘The Media and Social Theory’ by David Hesmondhalgh and Jason Toynbee,

This book hosts the works of a range of different media analysts.

These works have been brought together by Professor David Hesmondhalgh

Head of Institute; Director of Media Industries Research Centre from the University of Leeds and Dr Jason Toynbee Senior Lecturer in Media Studies from the The Open University.

Chapters 8 and 9 have been the most relevant to me, I have not yet identified anything that I will definitely use, but here is a brief overview of my thoughts on these chapters anyway.

Chapter 8 – Rethinking the Digital Age by Faye Ginsburg

Faye Ginsburg is the founding Director of the Centre for Media, Culture and History at New York University.  To begin this chapter Ginsburg draws attention to an event in March 2005, when the United Nations launched the ‘Digital Solidarity Fund’, this was a programme designed to ease the digital divide by initiating projects to provide more equal access to information and communication technologies worldwide.

Ginsburg looks at the possible ramifications of introducing these technologies to indigenous cultures.  This is an interesting arc on which I could take my essay, looking at whether the freedom to have access to the information society would enhance or destabilise indigenous cultures, and I could examine how access to this information has affected the rest of the world who already have access.  This is an interesting subject but it does not feel directly relevant to my practice in context right now?  I am not sure if I will use any of the information from this chapter in my essay but I wouldn’t be surprised if it pops up later on in my project, on my blog.

Chapter 9 – Media and mobility in a transnational world by Purnima Mankekar

Purnima Mankekar is an author and teacher of Women’s and Asian American Studies at the University of California.

In this chapter Mankekar explores the relationship between media, mobility and transnationality.  Mankekar explains how the ability to travel far and wide across our world with relative ease, has created a globalised culture, and how individual cultural identities have been affected.  This chapter goes on to look at the possible effects of mobile media as a threat to cultural identity and as an instigator of social change. This could also be an interesting avenue of investigation but very much like the previous chapter, I do not feel the immediate relevance of this to my current practice context.

This book was very interesting but the extent to which it may inform my essay is yet to be decided.

Leave a Reply

